Let’s say, you created a YouTube channel with your Google Apps account and you got a very good username and unique URL for it. For whatever reason, you now decide that you no longer want to use the email associated with your Google Apps account but you still want to keep the YouTube channel, as well as all of your videos, username and URL. I’m going to show you how to unlink your YouTube channel and link it with a new or existing Google account. Follow these steps:
1. Go to YouTube Contact Support and submit your request. In the field “Describe your issue here”, explain to them that you’d like to keep your channel and everything related to it, including your videos, username and URL. You might also want to give them a reason for why you want to unlink it.
2. In a few days, Google support will contact you and will ask you to confirm that you want to unlink your YouTube channel.
3. Once you reply to that email and confirm it, they will provide you with a temporary username and password, which you will need to log into your YouTube channel.
4. Now, here’s the important part. You will not be able to link your YouTube channel to a Google account that already HAS a YouTube channel. So, either you have to create a new Google account or you have to delete the YouTube channel off of the Google account that you’d like to you.
5. Log into the YouTube channel that you’d like to keep with the temporary username and password Google support provided you. Once you’re logged in, it will ask you to link it to a new Google account. You can choose whichever Google account you want.
And that’s it. Now you’ve successfully unlinked and moved your YouTube channel to a new Google account. Have you tried this? Let me know if it goes or if you encounter any problem.